A Reminder of the Past

Image

I am very partial to cinnamon rolls, just ask my family. You might say I am even a connoisseur of them. Once, when I was, well, honestly a not so young child, I stuck a fork in the top of my grandfathers hand (I didn’t really break the skin, I swear) as he tried to take one off my plate. My maternal grandmother, when she was alive, was the queen of cinnamon rolls, and would always make sure she had a batch made up when we came to visit. She even let me help make them a couple of times, and despite that insight, I have never been able to duplicate them, not even close. In fact, the only person I know who has even come close is my Uncle Charlie, but even they lack, well, that certain something grandma had. 

With all that said, I am kind of a harsh critic when it comes to other people’s cinnamon rolls and sticky buns, and yes, there is a difference between the two. A while ago while on assignment I was at the Country Cupboard in Lewisburg on assignment and I got to have one of their sticky buns. One of the perks of my job you might say. So when I first saw it I must say I was impressed by its size, but looks aren’t everything you might say, although it did provide a nice desert for my family of 4. It had a good flavor to it, plenty of cinnamon in the layers, although I think it could have used a bit more butter in the mix. Now, believe it or not, I prefer my cinnamon rolls without icing, I think a good cinnamon roll can stand on its own without the icing, with that said though, I know that sticky buns always, always have icing on them. To me, the icing was a bit to sugary and on the thin side, but that is a bit on the minor side I realize. Overall it was a nice treat, good flavor, great size and value, and most importantly, it made me smile to think of my grandmother. So now for my rating, I give it 4 cinnamon sticks out of 5.

One thought on “A Reminder of the Past

  1. Aunt Doreen says:

    Robbie – I just read this to your Uncle Charlie (he understands blogs less than I!) – he said to tell you “no two batches are exactly the same, as there Re no measurements and humidity and weather plays a big part!

Leave a comment