My Wing Girl

ImageMy four year old daughter Amelia loves to help me cook in the kitchen, and yes, it’s the big kids kitchen, not the play kitchen. Now at four years old, she can’t run the burners or use sharp knives, but she helps keep count of measurements, crack eggs, and lately, her personal favorite, cut the butter up into chunks. That’s some serious cooking for a four year old if you ask me.

On Friday we whipped up a batch of blueberry muffins from a recipe I got off the internet. Now I have never had much luck when it comes to muffin making. It’s not that they turn out bad, just never the way I want them to, big, light, fluffy and of course, sweet. This recipe promised to give me those deli style muffins, and while they tasted just fine, again it left me wanting more out of my muffin. I realize you take a chance with any random recipe you get off the web, but if you take a look at the ingredients going into before actually cooking it, you can get a general sense if it will at least be edible.

I’ll be honest, I like the muffins you get from Giant and Dunkin just fine, they are usual big, light, fluffy and sweet, but tend to be a bit dry, and they just don’t have that homemade thing going for them. I am a firm believer in homemade tastes better, not just because of the ingredients or health reasons, but because of all the intangibles that go into the food. I love it when my daughter helps me cook. She is great company and not only does it help her counting skills and cooking skills, it’s just good family time. I’ve realized over the years that I am not the worlds smartest man, would never be able to be a doctor or a nurse, couldn’t pass a bar exam even if I wanted to, and I sure can’t run the 40 in 4.3 seconds. There are some things I am halfway decent at though, and you better believe I am going to try and take the time to do those things with my girls including working in the kitchen.

For centuries people have been passing down recipes in their families, bonding together over food, and hatching new ideas for who knows what. We can’t survive without food, so what you eat might as well taste good. Take the time to share what you know with your kids and they will be better off for that, and so will you.

So, if anyone has a muffin recipe out there that will get me those deli style muffins from scratch, please, please, I beg of you, pass it long and I will give it a try.

Leave a Reply

