Knowing when to fold em

So Saturday wasn’t my best ever day in the kitchen. I am almost embarrassed to admit to this, but I almost messed up a Oreo Pie box mix. Yes, a box mix. I don’t really know what was going on, whether I reverted to a first grade reading level, was a total space cadet, or if my blonde hair color was casting a veil over my brain.

Thankfully I was able to salvage the pie because my wife was really, really looking forward to it for desert, but I was scheduled to make dinner that night and I knew it just wasn’t my day in the kitchen. So what do you do when you know you need to cook dinner, but it just ain’t your day, keep it simple, and I mean real simple. Cut up some potatoes, fry them up in a pan with some butter, oil, a pinch of salt and a few seasonings. Take a couple pork chops, don’t do a thing to them other then cook them properly and let everyone put on what kind of sauce they want afterwords.

See, we all have days like this, whether we admit to them or not, but it’s key to realize when you are so you know your limits and how to fix it. Whenever our girls start to have what we like to call a meltdown, the first thing I try to do with them is get them to actually breath and then talk to them on their level, starting with the basics. Everything in life is built off the basics, math, science, computers, and even cooking. Before you can break the rules, you need to know them first so that when you do break them, you know what happens.

So keep things simple and clean and go from there and the sky will be the limit for you food. Sorry about the lack of pictures for the post, hopefully there will be a couple this week, I am on deck to cook at least a couple times this week.

Leave a Reply

