Making Whoopie

Image

I am a transplant to this area, that is to say about 10 years ago I moved here from central New York. Up until then, I really had never heard about whoopie pies before, and since the first time I tried one, it completely baffled me how they had not spread to my home area and swept the country by storm.

Now that I have had my fair share of whoopie pies, in many, many flavors, including red velvet, oatmeal, pumpkin, chocolate chocolate chip and others, I feel somewhat confident that some of the best ones I have had are from Hilshire’s General Store on Route 11&15 South. First, they price them by the pound, not that I have ever eaten a one pound whoopie pie (although I bet I could) so you know you’re getting your money’s worth, and believe me, they are worth every penny. Although, in truth, the last one I got was bought for me by a co-worker who was going there that I begged and begged, and I would grovel for one again in the blink of an eye. The cake portion is moist and rich, but doesn’t fall apart, and the filling is the right amount of sweetness but not over the top and actually has a creamy flavor rather than a sugary one. It was in short, the perfect pick-me-up for a not so good afternoon.

I don’t recommend eating as a coping mechanism generally (not that I haven’t done it, and who really hasn’t) but sometimes it can really help. It won’t actually solve your problem, but it sure makes you feel better for a bit, and hey, after you’re done eating, you will have a nice little sugar rush to go tackle the problem with. And with that said, it is almost time for me to go tackle my lunch, so the next time you are headed down 11&15 South, be sure to stop in at Hilshire’s General Store, on the right hand side, and pick up your favorite flavor of whoopie pie, and I promise you won’t be disappointed. I give them 5 out of 5 Whoopies!

One thought on “Making Whoopie

  1. MJ says:

    Oh you are cooking Rob. Hilshire’s has great hoagies also if you enjoy that kind of sandwich. My daughter lives in the countryside of Liverpool. Next time I head that way, what flavor of whoopie pie do you want?

Leave a Reply

